top of page

Introducing the Board of Directors of the Beaufort Lions Club


Pat Harvey Palmer              Membership/ Board Member


Lion Pat has been a Lion since 1999. She twice served as President of the Beaufort Club and as Zone 6 Chairperson, teaching many Leadership Training courses in District 32 C. She organizes two annual parades on behalf of our Lions Club. She owns a local business and is involved in many community organizations. 



Melinda Hagins                                         Past President/Board Member

Lion Melinda is a mother of two and a retired school nurse.  She has been a member of Beaufort Lions since 2015 and has  served a secretary and Sunshine chairperson

Sam Cowen                                    Treasurer/Board Member
Lion Sam is a retired nurse educator, mother, and grandmother who has served in several Lions Clubs across the state of SC.  She has been a member of Beaufort Lions Club since 2015.  She is serving as Beaufort Lions Club treasurer.  
PDG Jim Palmer                                         Board Member

Lion Jim was born in Tennessee, served in the Marine Corp and a Beaufort County deputy sheriff.


PDG Jim has been a Lion for 30 years and has served the organization in many capacities. 


Lion Jim serves on numerous boards in the community which serve the disabled and teenagers at risk of being incarcerated.

Lou Beale                         Secretary/Board Member

Lion  Lou is a third generation Beaufort Lion.  She is a retired middle school math teacher, a mother, grandmother and great-grandmother.  Her responsibilities as a Beaufort Lion is to collect and count donated eye wear, serve on the vision screening team and serve as secretary.  

Dr. Carol Luetzow       President/Board Member 

Lion Carol joined Beaufort Lions in 2014 and served as the monthly newsletter editor and past-president.  She is currently chairperson of the eye screening team and assists with the Festival of the Trees entry. She retired from public education in 2011 and volunteers with the Lions at a local free medical clinic..   

bottom of page